Grange Farm Primary School


Governor News

Governor News

New Parent Governor

Mrs Neelam Saihjpal has been appointed as a new parent governor


  1. The name of the school is Grange Farm Primary School.
  2. The school is a Community School.
  3. The  name of the governing body is   ‘The Governing Body of Grange Farm Primary School’.
  4. The governing body shall consist of:

(a) five parent governors
(b) one LA  governor
(c) one staff governor
(d) the Headteacher and
(e) Six Co-opted Governors

  1. Total number of governors will be fourteen (except at any time when the headteacher has given notice as above that he/she chooses not to be a governor, when the total number of governors will be thirteen).
  2. The term of office of all categories of governor shall be 4 years.
  3. This instrument was made by order of Coventry City Council as the Local Authority in accordance with the School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012 as amended, on the third day of March two thousand and fifteen (3 March 2015).
  4. This Instrument of Government shall come into effect on the nineteenth day of March two thousand and fifteen (19 March 2015)
  5.  A copy of the instrument must be supplied to every member of the governing body (and the Headteacher if not a governor).

Governor Visits

Governor Membership

Governors are appointed for a four year period.

Parent Governors

Name Date Appointed Appointed By Date Declaration of Business Interests Signed Other Governor Responsibilities
Vacancy Parents
Mrs Sandeep Bhagwan 21.11.19 Parents
Mrs Alice Scannell 02.11.21 Parents
Vacancy Parents
Mrs Neelam Saihjpal 16.02.22 Parents

LA Governor (Council Appointed)

Cllr Tim Sawdon 31.8.20 LA & Governing Board

Co-opted Governors

Mr Colin Marscheider (Chair) 18.3.19 Governing Body 6.10.21 Governor at Howes Primary School
Mr Anthony Alonzi 4.7.23 Governing Body Governor at Rugby High School
Ms Shelagh Rixon 19.3.19 Governing Body Governor at Stanton Bridge Primary School
Mrs Lynne Jeffs 18.11.19 Governing Board
Mr Pete James 18.11.19 Governing Body Governor at St Peter & St Paul RC Primary School
Mr Manjit Singh 23.6.21 Governing Body

Teacher Governor

Vacancy All Staff


Mr Matthew Walters 4.9.22

Governors who have stepped down but have served in the last 12 months

Name Date Date Stepped Down
Mr Martin Ledgard July 22
Mrs Holly Lawton July 21
Mrs Kirandeep Khatkar December 21
Mrs Victoria Hastie June 22

Governor Committees

Resource Management

This committee covers Premises, Finance, Personnel, Marketing and Health & Safety and members are:

Neelam Saihjpal (Chair) Matthew Walters Tim Sawdon
Vacancy Colin Marscheider Peter James
Vicky Noone (Notes) Manjit Singh

Additionally, 3 governors to be selected from the members above, as and when required, excluding the Headteacher, to consider Staff Dismissal, Grievances, Health Reviews and Pupil Discipline hearings.

Sub group of RM covers all Health & Safety issues within the school:
Matthew Walters, Tim Sawdon and Steve Ell

Quality & Standards

This committee covers Special needs, Target setting, Curriculum, SIP and Standards & Data and members are:

Colin Marscheider (Chair) Matthew Walters Sandeep Bhagwan
Lynne Jeffs Pete James Shelagh Rixon
Anthony Alonzi Alice Scannell Vicky Noone (Notes)

Additionally, 3 governors to be selected from the members above, as and when required, excluding the Headteacher to consider Staff Dismissal, Grievances, TLR Appeals, and Pupil Discipline appeals.

The quorum for Committees to be 3 members

Newly appointed governors attend meetings of both committees to enable them to see which ones would be most suitable to join.

Governor Responsibilities

Performance Management/Pay Committee: Colin Marscheider, Sandeep Bhagwan and Pete James
Performance Management Review Officer: Tim Sawdon
Link Governor: Colin Marscheider
SEN Governor: Peter James and Sandeep Bhagwan
More Able and Gifted and Talented Governor: Neelam Saihjpal
Numeracy Governor: Anthony Alonzi
Literacy Governor: Shelagh Rixon
Looked After Children: Colin Marscheider
Child Protection Governor: Colin Marscheider
Governors’ Web Pages: Colin Marscheider
Safer Recruitment Governors: Shelagh Rixon, Lynne Jeffs & Colin Marscheider
Equal Opportunities Governor: Manjit Singh
Relationship, and Sex Education Governor: Alice Scannell
Prevent Governor: Anthony Alonzi
Pupil Premium Governor: Pete James
Health & Safety Governor: Tim Sawdon
UK GDPR: Colin Marscheider
Pupil Voice: Peter James
Well-being: Peter James
Curriculum Development: Alice Scannell and Sandeep Bhagwan
Science: Neelam Saihjpal
Professional Development: Colin Marscheider
EYFS: Lynne Jeffs
Religious Education – Shelagh Rixon

Governors’ Allowances


At Grange Farm Primary School, we are dedicated to good practice and ensuring equality through school processes.

The School Governance Regulations (2013) allow governing bodies of maintained schools, who have a delegated budget, to decide whether they wish to pay expenses to governors and associate members of the governing body, in order to reimburse any expenses they have incurred when serving as a governor.

This policy has been created with the aim of ensuring that all governors, and non-governors who are members of the governing body, receive reimbursements for an expenses where the school has derived benefit from the individual serving their governing duty.

The school believes that enabling governors to fulfil their roles, regardless of circumstances, is important in ensuring equality for all governing members of our community and is, therefore, an appropriate use of our annual budget.

Below is our policy.

Governors’ Allowances Policy

Register of Meeting Attendance

Below is the register of attendance at meetings by Governors.

Full Governing Body Meeting


Main Meeting 7/07/2022 Main Meeting 01/12/2022 Main Meeting 30/03/2023
Bhagwan, Sandeep Apologies
Scannell, Alice Apologies
Alonzi, Anthony
James, Peter Apologies
Jeffs, Lynne
Walter, Matthew N/A
Marscheider, Colin
Dismorr, Claire Apologies Apologies
Rixon, Shelagh
Sawdon, Tim
Bhagwan, Sandeep Apologies
Saunders, Rachael N/A
Manjit Singh Apologies
Ledgard, Martin N/A N/A
Blundell, John Apologies Apologies N/A


Quality & Standards Meeting

Q&S Meeting 28/09/2022 Q&S Meeting 23/11/2022 Q&S Meeting 18/01/2023 Q&S Meeting 01/03/2023 Q&S Meeting 03/05/2023 Q&S Meeting 29/06/2023
Alonzo, Anthony Apologies Apologies
James, Peter
Jeffs, Lynne Apologies
Bhagwan, Sandeep Apologies Apologies
Walters, Matthew
Marscheider, Colin
Rixon, Shelagh Apologies
Scannell, Alice Apologies
Saunders, Rachael N/A N/A


Resources Management Meeting


RM Meeting 15/06/2022 RM Meeting 21/11/2022 RM Meeting 15/06/2023
Saihjpal, Neelam Apologies
Blundell, John Apologies N/A
Walters, Matthew Apologies
Marscheider, Colin
Sawdon, Tim Apologies Apologies Apologies
James, Peter Apologies
Dismorr, Claire
Singh, Manjit N/A Apologies
Scannell, Alice N/A N/A N/A
Saihjpal, Neelam N/A N/A N/A

Governor Login

Copies of governor documents can be accessed via this portal.


Find Us

Grange Farm Primary School
Dewsbury Avenue


024 7641 1098